Student MAP Conference (SMAP)                                                        

SMAP Banner

Saturday, February 2, 2019
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning
University of Michigan - Ann Arbor

The Student Michigan Association of Planning (SMAP) Conference is an opportunity for urban and regional planning students from universities throughout Michigan to gather for professional development, networking and skill building. This event provides students a venue where they can connect and network with professional planners affecting change each day in their communities. Come join us and learn about cutting edge research and real world projects that help define the future of planning.

Program highlights:
  • Featured speakers Tim Augustine, Partner/Senior Vice President, Atwell and Lisa Nuszkowski, Founder & Executive Director, MOGO Detroit
  • Student presentations on autonomous vehicles, housing prices, and inclusive investment
  • Breakout sessions on community engagement, online GIS, real estate for planners and the charrette process
  • Resume review and portfolio tips
  • Advice from early career professionals Caitlyn Habben, Rowe Professional Services; Christopher Germain, MEDC; Briana Mason, CIty of Detroit; and Kathleen Reilly, City of Kalamazoo
  • Roundtable conversations with professional planners and employers from: Atwell, Smith Group, Carlisle/Wortman, CIB Planning, City of Farmington, Cinnaire, Detroit Future City, Southfield Area Chamber of Commerce, City of Detroit, Poverty Solutions, City of Pontiac and more!
$35 through Wednesday, January 30
$45 after January 30 and at the event

Register Now


SMAP is Sponsored by: 

MEDC logo
Safe Routes to School
 Rowe Professional Services Atwell Logo MSU 
Taubman EMU 


Sign Sponsor
Beckett & Raeder, Inc.

Round Table Mentor Sponsors
DTE Energy

Gibbs Planning Group

Refreshment Sponsors
Carlisle|Wortman Associates, Inc.

CIB Planning

Consumers Energy

Giffels Webster

Grand Valley State University,Geography and Sustainable Planning Dept.

Lawrence Technological University College of Architecture & Design

Wade Trim

General Sponsors
Norman Tyler, FAICP



Troy S. Jeschke

Wayne State University