Memorial Student Scholarship Program


Black Student Conference Scholarship

MAP’s Memorial Scholarship Program was created by Larry Bauman and Mike Banas in 1993 to honor their dear friend Mike Manore, a long time planning leader who had passed away. The Memorial Scholarship Program is funded by proceeds generated at MAP's annual Golf Outing to perpetually fund scholarships for graduate and undergraduate urban and regional planning students in Michigan.  

Applications for student scholarships are accepted once a year The 2023 application is due May 19, 2023.

Scholarships are selected through a competitive process. The MAP Scholarship Committee reviews all applications received and awards student scholarships in the summer. 

To apply, you must be a member of Michigan Association of Planning and enrolled at a Michigan college or university for academic year 2023-2024 in an urban or regional planning program or related curriculum with an emphasis on land use planning. 

Recent scholarships have ranged from $800 to $1500 per student, in addition to complimentary registration for the annual Planning Michigan conference, held in the Fall.

Please click here for the Memorial Student Scholarship application.

Donations to the Memorial Scholarship Fund will be gratefully accepted and are tax-deductible.  

Donate Now

In 2022, MAP's MDP Career Development Committee developed and launched a scholarship program for Black students studying planning to cover all costs to attend MAP's annual planning conference held in the fall.  

If you are a Black student studying planning in Michigan, you may be eligible for the scholarship!  The deadline for the 2023 scholarship is September 8, 2023 .  Please click here for the Black Student Scholarship.   

Donations to the Black Student Conference Scholarship Fund will be gratefully accepted and are tax-deductible.  

Donate Now


If you are a professional or a community looking for scholarship opportunities, please contact Andrea Brown.  Communities or professionals must be MAP members to be considered.  


Francis P. Bennett  

Charles A. Blessing

Bernard (BJ) Carey  

Thomas David Carey

Claude Coates, AICP  

Bernard DeVries

John Donahue  

Helen Foss

Victoria Georgeau, AICP  

Carl Goldschmidt, FAICP

Keith Honey  

Sherrin Hood, AICP

Michael Howell, AICP  

Edward Hustoles, FAICP

Robert Leighton  

Gerald Luedtke

Gregory Main  

Michael T. Manore

Dennis Meagher  

Jerry Mears

David A. Nicholson, AICP  

Maurice F. Parkins, AICP

George A. Peek, AICP  

J. Douglas Piggott, FAICP

Lillian Randolph  

Brandon Rogers

William Deane Smith  

Carol Steininger-Banas, AICP

Ben Tallerico, AICP  

Richard Weaver 

Helen Willis

   Owen Winnie, AICP